Primary election is Tuesday
The statewide Primary Election is slated for next Tuesday, May 25, with most of the contested races at the county level.
The Third District Idaho County Commissioner’s race has the most candidates with 3 Republicans and 2 Democrats on the ballot. Jim Chmelik, Mike Coey and Gary Owen are vying for the Republican nomination while Jim Rehder and Bob Jesse are vying for the Democratic nomination. All are seeking the post currently held by George Enneking, who declined to run for re-election.
The Second District Idaho County Commissioner race has almost as many with 2 Republicans and 2 Democrats. Incumbent Republican Pat Holmberg faces challenger Twila Hornbeck while Randy Doman and Mark Reaney vie for the Democratic nomination.
The Sheriff’s race is another garnering a lot of attention where incumbent Larry Dasenbrock faces challenger Mike Ayers for the Republican nomination. Wayne Sedam is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.
The only other county office up for election is Idaho County Prosecutor where incumbent Jeff Payne is stepping down. Kirk McGregor, a Republican, is the only candidate on the ballot.
The only non-county contested race is for the Republican nomination for U.S. Congress. Incumbent Butch Otter faces a challenge from Jim Pratt. Naomi Preston is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.
Incumbent Skip Brandt is unopposed for the Republican nomination for District 8 State Senator and there is no Democrat running for the position.
Incumbent Ken Roberts is unopposed on the Republican ballot for District 8, Position A State Representative. He’ll face Darcy James in November, who is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.
Incumbent Democrat Chuck Cuddy is unopposed in the primary as is his November opponent, Paul Shepherd, a Republican.
Incumbent Republican U.S. Senator Mike Crapo is unopposed in the primary and there is no Democrat running in the primary.
The only other race on the ballot is for U.S. President. President George W. Bush is the only name on the Republican ticket while John Kerry, Dennis Kucinich and Al Sharpton are on the Democratic ticket.
On a separate ballot will be voting for 3 judicial positions. For Justice of the Supreme Court Roger Burdick is seeking to retain his position. Wayne Kidwell has retired and Jim Jones, a former Idaho Attorney General, is the only candidate seeking to succeed Kidwell.
For Judge of the Court of Appeals, Karen Lansing is seeking to retain the position.
Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. next Tuesday. 

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522



Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: