Arnzen named 1st team all-WPL
Natalie Arnzen made the White Pine League first team all-league volleyball team as an outside hitter.
The team was determined by a vote of league coaches.
Sarah Forsmann earned an honorable mention.
Genesee dominated the all-league team with 4 of the 7 first team players plus 3 more on the second team.
Melinda Mizer of Nezperce joins Arnzen as a first team all-league outside hitter. 
The rest of the first team are: Setter, Lisa Davis, Genesee; Middles, Danielle Browning, Kendrick and Kelsie Gartner, Genesee; Right Side, Juliana Sobczyk, Genesse; Libero, Casey Jones, Genesee.
Second team: Setter, Kamas Malm, Deary; Outsides, Kaitlin Cramer, Genesee and Liz Becker, Genesee; Middles, Megan Skow, Genesee and Spencer Thomason, Highland; Right Side, Kelsie Proctor, Deary; Libero, Julie Kirk, Troy.
Honorable Mentions: Mary Sulians, Ashley Kanikkeberg and Jennifer Schlake, Troy; Cassie Funk, Kelsie Eggers and Christy Butler, Deary; Cece Bourgeau and Brandee Quijada, Lapwai; Sarah Savage, Nezperce; Forsmann of Prairie and Melinda Stowers of Culdesac.
Tera Stoner of Troy was selected as coach of the year.

Two selected for All-Star game
Natalie Arnzen and Ashley Schaeffer were both selected for the District 2 volleyball All-Star match which was held Tuesday, Nov. 8 at Lewiston.
They join 10 other local area seniors on the south squad which was to face a squad of 12 seniors from the northern part of the district.
Schools represented on the South squad besides Prairie were Clearwater Valley, Culdesac, Grangeville, Highland, Kamiah, Lapwai, Nezperce and Lewiston.
Schools represented on the North squad are Deary, Genesee, Moscow, Orofino, Potlatch, Kendrick, Timberline and Troy.

Volleyball awards are given
Awards were given for the Prairie High School volleyball team at a dessert banquet Monday, Nov. 7.
Lindsey Crea and Natalie Arnzen were named co-captains of the team.
Also, every player received at least one special award from head coach Danette Moea’i.
Arnzen received awards for most kills, most passes, most completed passes and most digs.
Crea received awards for most sets and most assists.
Ashley Schaeffer received the most serves award.
Sarah Forsmann received awards for best platform and hardest serve.
Bridget Enneking received an award as the team player that sacrificed most.
Tiffany Schaeffer received awards for most attacks, most blocks and most aces.
Randi Schumacher was given a most versatile award.
Kylie Uhlorn received a most intense award.
Carolyn Sonnen received the award for fewest missed serves.
Tessica Nuxoll was given the best supporting team player award.
Shandrie Poxleitner was given awards for most hustle and most spirit.
Vikki Duman gave awards for the JV team.
Tessica Nuxoll and Brooke Holthaus were named co-captains.
Nuxoll also received the most improved award and Holthaus received the most aces award.
Charlene Duman was given a most dedicated award.
Kim Schaeffer was given the most determined and never weaken awards.
Alli Holthaus was also given a most determined award.
Sarah Arnzen was given the most focused award.
Gina Holthaus received the most hustle award.
Chelsea Long and Alicia Pepper received most versatile awards.
Marlene Forsmann gave out C team awards.
Jennifer Enneking and Kristi Poxleitner were named co-captains.
Poxleitner also received a most determined award and Enneking the intensity award.
Camille Schumacher received the most focused award.
Kaylee Uhlenkott received the power player award.
Brittney Gehring received the most supportive award.
Leora Laurino received the best digger award.
Samantha Johnson received the most consistent award.
Carly Behler was given a keep it lively award.
Beth Geis was given a persistence pays off award.
Finally, Rachel Kaschmitter and Caitlyn Johnson were awarded as most entertaining.
Every player on all three squads was presented with a "Never Weaken" medallion.

Girls in Jamboree Thursday
The Prairie Lady Pirates will see their first action this Thursday, Nov. 10 in a Jamboree at Clearwater Valley High School.
Prairie will play host C.V. at 5:30 p.m.
Their next action will be against Timberline at approximately 6:45 p.m.
Their final action will be against Nezperce at approximately 7:35 p.m.
Teams will play 2 eight-minute quarters of continuous clock with 1 minute between quarters. Teams will have 2 timeouts available per session.
Charge at the gate is $3 per adult and $2 per student with ASB card.
Gate proceeds are split amongst the participating schools and will go toward each school’s Youth Endowment for Activities account.
No passes will be honored.

JV games start at 6 p.m., varsity to follow unless indicated
10-Jamboree at CV
15-Grangeville, there
18 & 19-at CV Tournament, TBA
22-Nezperce, here
  2-Lapwai, here
  8-Timberline, here
10-Kendrick, there
12-Highland, here
16-Prairie Christmas Tourn. 6:45
17-Prairie Christmas Tourn. TBA
20-Culdesac, there
  5-Genesee, there
  7-C.V., here, 3 p.m.
10-Highland, there
13-Troy, here
17-Culdesac, here
19-Grangeville, here
21-Deary, here
24-Nezperce, there
27-Timberline, there
Feb. 1-11-District at LCSC
Cottonwood, Idaho 83522



Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: