Primary election is Tuesday
The Primary Election will be held next Tuesday, May 23 with polls open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
There are several races on the ballot with the winners in each party to advance to the general election in November.
The most contested race is for the Republican nominee for First District Congressman with 6 contenders. Skip Brandt, Keith Johnson, Bill Sali, Norm Semanko, Sheila Sorensen and Robert Vasquez are all vying for the nomination. On the Demecratic side Larry Grant and Cecil Kelly III are competing to face the Republican survivor in November. They are all vying for the seat Butch Otter is giving up to run for Governor.
The race with the second most contenders is for Governor with 4 Republicans and 2 Democrats vying for their parties’ nominations. Dan Adamson, Walt Bayes, Jack Johnson and Otter are on the Republican ballot with Jerry Brady and Lee Chaney, Sr. on the Democratic ballot. They are competing for the position Dirk Kempthorne has relinquished as nominee for the Dept. of the Interior cabinet position.
State Superintendent of Public Instruction has 3 Republicans and 2 Democrats in the race. Steve Casey, Tom Luna and Steve Smylie are competing for the Republican nomination while Jana Jones and Bert Marley are competing for the Democratic nomination. They are all vying to replace Marilyn Howard who decided not to run again.
Royce Chigbrow and Donna M. Jones are vying for the Republican nomination for State Controller. The winner will face Democrat Jackie Twilegar in November. The winner would replace Keith Johnson who decided to run for Congress.
Incumbent Attorney General Lawrence Wasden is facing a challenge in the primary from fellow Republican Myron Gabbert. The winner will face Democrat Bob Wallace in November.
The Democrats have a race for the Lieutenant Governor nomination between former Congressman Larry LaRocco and Dan Romero. The winner will face incumbent Republican Jim Risch in November.
In District 8 the only contested race is for State Senator. To replace Skip Brandt, who decided to run for Congress, are 2 Republicans and 2 Democrats. Lee Heinrich and Ronn Julian are seeking the Republican nomination while Scott McLeod and Dave Holland are seeking the Democratic nomination.
At the Idaho County level we have races for First District County Commissioner and for County Coroner.
For Commissioner Republicans Fred Kuester and John Schurbon and Democrats Richard Adams and Vernon Kennedy are vying for their party nominations.
For Coroner there are 3 Republicans, incumbent Steve Frei, former County Commissioner Pat Long and Ann Wilson, bying for the Republican nomination. The winner will face Democrat Phil Foster who is unopposed in the primary.
All other races are unopposed in the primary election.

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522



Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: