Primary election winners
The Primary election was held last Tuesday, May 23 with party nominees finalized for the November elections.
In contested races for Idaho County positions John F. Schurbon outpolled Fred Kuester for the Republican nomination and Richard L. Adams outpolled Vernon Kennedy for the Democratic nomination for First District County Commissioner. The two will face each other in November to fill the post currently held by Alice Mattson.
The only other county contested race was for the Republican nomination for County Coroner. Incumbent Steve Frei held off the challenges of Patrick E. Long an Ann Wilson. Frei will face Democratic nominee Phil Foster in November.
At the state legislative level District 8 State Senator was the only contested race. Lee Heinrich outpolled Ronn Julian for the Republican nomination. He will face Scott McLeod who defeated Dave Holland for the Democratic nomination.
In the Congressional primary Bill Sali outlasted 5 other candidates for the Republican nomination for First District Congressman. He値l face Democratic nominee Larry Grant who defeated Cecil Kelly III.
In statewide races, Governor had the most candidates with Butch Otter defeating 3 other candidates for the Republican nomination. He値l face Democratic nominee Jerry Brady who defeated Lee Chaney Sr.
Lieutenant Governor had a contested race on the Democratic side as Larry LaRocco defeated Dan Romero for the nomination. He値l face incumbent Jim Risch, who was recently appointed Governor to fill in for Dirk Kempthorne who was recently approved as Secretary of the Interior.
For Attorney General incumbent Lawrence Wasden fought off challenger Myron Gabbert for the Republican nomination. He値l face Democrat Bob Wallace in November.
Superintendent of Public Instruction had contested races in both parties. Tom Luna edged Steve Smylie for the Republican nomination while Jana Jones defeated Bert Marley for the Democratic nomination.
For State Controller Donna Jones defeated Royce Chigbrow for the Republican nomination. She値l face Democrat Jackie Twilegar in November.
County races not contested in the primary but with November races will have incumbent Democrat Jim Rehder again facing Republican Jim Chmelik for the Third District County Commissioner.
Republican James Zehner will face Democrat Ron Funke for County Assessor. They seek to replace longtime County Assessor Jim Beckman who will retire.
Republican Rose Gehring, Clerk of the District Court and Democrat Sharon A. Cox, County Treasurer are unopposed in November.
At the state legislative level incumbent state representative Ken Roberts faces a challenge from Democrat Darcy James for Position A.
Republican incumbent Paul Shepherd will face a challenge from Democrat Charlene Douglas for Position B.
At the state level Republican Ron Crane and Democrat Jill Ellsworth will vie for State Treasurer.
Republican Ben Ysursa is unopposed for Secretary of State.

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522



Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: