Knights of Columbus Crown Free Throw Champions
Ten boys and girls from Prairie Elementary School, Prairie Middle School, and Summit Academy, ages 10 to 14, were named local and district champions of the 2008 Knights of Columbus Free Throw Championship and have earned the right to compete at the state level.  Knights of Columbus Council #1389 from Cottonwood, Ferdinand, Greencreek, and Keuterville sponsored the local competition at the three schools during Physical Education periods. The winners emerged from a pool of 158 students who participated in the free event.  All youth ages 10 to 14, to include home schoolers, were eligible to participate. 
Kellie Heitman was the 10-year old girls’ champion and Jake Bruner was the winner of the 10-year old boys’ division.  In the 11-year olds’ bracket, Whitney Sonnen was the girls’ champion and Bryson Higgins was the boys’ champion.  Twelve-year-old winners in the girls’ and boys’ division were Nicole Wemhoff and Kody Duclos.  The 13-year old girls’ division was won by Savannah Kutherand the boys’ by Austin Chmelik.  Fourteen-year-old champions were Savanah Prigge – a repeat winner from last year -in the girls’ bracket and Timothy Frei in the boys’.   Congratulations to the winners.
Each council contestant shot 15 three-throws in the contest.  Successive rounds of five free throws per contestant settled ties until a participant in each category shot their way to the top spot.  Because the Cottonwood K of C Council is the only member in district 6 participating in the KC hoop shoot, each council winner was also an automatic district winner.   District winners were invited to shoot another 25 free throws on Saturday, February 2, 2008 and those who participated will be submitted for state competition.  
After the free throw shooting was finished each winner received a KC Certificate recognizing his or her achievement and a district champion medal.  In addition, the winning scores will be submitted to compete in the state competition later this winter with the possibility of advancing to the international level during the spring.  We expect to hear the results of the state competition about May 1 and hopefully present some state winner trophies at school assemblies.

Shown are most of the winners of the KC Hoop Shoot. Back from left are Jake Bruner, Kody Duclos, Whitney Sonnen and Kellie Heitman. Front from left are Savanah Prigge, Nicole Wemhoff, Bryson Higgins and Timothy Frei. Not pictured are Austin Chmelik and Savannah Kuther.

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522



Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: