Pirates suffer first loss
The Prairie baseball team suffered their first loss of the season as they lost a non-league game 7-11 at Orofino Thursday, March 25.
The Maniacs got to Prairie pitcher David Sigler for 6 runs in 3 innings including a grand slam homer. Reliever Seth Guyer gave up 5 more runs in the fifth inning.
Prairie meanwhile couldnít get any offense going until the seventh inning when they put up 5 runs.
Sigler had a double and a single and 2 RBI in the game while Devin Schmidt had a single and 3 RBI. Guyer had a double and Kyle Holthaus and Joe Schumacher each had a single as Prairie totaled 6 hits.
Orofino pounded out 11 hits.
With the loss Prairie drops to 3-1 on the season.
Prairie   0 0 0 1 1 0 5ó  7   6 1
Orofino 2 4 0 0 5 0 xó11 11 3

Kyle Holthaus gets back safely to first ahead of a pickoff throw.
PHS Boys basketball awards were given out Sunday, March 28. Front from left are Beau Schlader, JV co-captain and assists leader; Seth Chaffee, JV Pirate award; Brock Heath, JV co-captain and hustle award; Troy Lorentz, JV 6th man award; and Marcus Higgins, JV Pirate award. Back from left are Seth Guyer, JV co-captain, rebounds and most valuable; Devin Schmidt, varsity co-most improved and hustle award; Conner Rieman, varsity defense, senior and Pirate awards; Kyle Holthaus, varsity co-6th man and senior awards; Andrew Gabica, varsity co-most improved and senior awards; Derek Schaeffer, varsity co-6th man and senior awards; Justin Schmidt, JV defense and most inspirational; Tim Frei, JV most improved; Branden Waller, varsity rebounds, most inspirational and senior awards and David Sigler, varsity most valuable, assists and senior awards.

Sigler is 1-A player of the year
David Sigler was named the Class 1-A state basketball player of the year by the Idaho Statesman in their March 28 edition.
Also named to the all-state first team was Branden Waller.
Also on the first team were Damon Leitch of Nezperce, Chet Christopher of Kendrick and Ethan Tverdy of Castleford.
Making the second team from the White Pine League were Dillon McGraw and Clayton Schultz of Troy.
In other honors from the state tournament, Devin Schmidt was named the MVP of the state championship game by IdahoSports.com.
Waller made IdahoSports.comís all-tournament team for Divisions 1-A to 4-A (MVPís were excluded from the all-tournament teams to recognize more players) while Andrew Gabica was named to the 2nd team.

PHS nominees for North Idaho Sports awards
Nominees were announced last week for the 2010 North Idaho Sports Banquet awards with several Prairie High School individuals and teams among the nominees.
Teel Bruner was nominated for male sports coach of the year for boys basketball.
The PHS boys basketball team was also nominated for male team of the year.
PHS softball was nominated for female team of the year.
Kyler Shumway was nominated for male athlete of the year.
In individual sports Shumway was nominated for both Football 3A-1A and Track and Field 3A-1A
David Sigler was nominated  for Boys Basketball 3A-1A.
For the girls, Sam Frei was nominated for Softball (all divisions).
The banquet will be held on April 10 in Coeur díAlene.

18-at Kamiah, 4 p.m., won 19-10
19-at Kendrick 4 p.m., won 18-7
22-at C.V., 4 p.m., won 13-7
25-at Orofino, 4:30 p.m., lost 7-11
1-at Genesee, 4:30 p.m.
13-Kamiah, here, 4 p.m.
15-at Lewis County, 4 p.m.
17-Troy, here, 2 league, 11 a.m.
23-Kendrick, here, 4 p.m.
24-Genesee, here, 11 a.m.
27-Lewis County, here, 4 p.m.
29-Timberline, here, 2 league, 3:30 p.m.
30-Orofino, here, 4 p.m.
6-C.V., here, 4 p.m.
7-at Potlatch, 2 league at LCSC, 4 p.m.
13-15-District at Kendrick
21-22-State at Kendrick

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: