Locals are VFW District winners
Prairie Middle School 6th grade student, Chaye Uptmor won the VFW Patriot's Pen writing award at the District 2 Krystal Ellis, left, and Chaye Uptmor.competition in Lewiston on Saturday, Dec 4 and is now headed for the state competition in Boise.  Chaye is the daughter of Roger & Chris Uptmor of Cottonwood.  She is joined by Prairie Elementary teacher Krystal Ellis, who won the VFW K-5 award for Teacher of the Year.  Both had to first win the VFW Post 4902, Richard Jacob's post competition, in Cottonwood.  At the awards luncheon in Lewiston they were both awarded 1st place prizes by VFW District 2 commander, Rick Johnson. Post 4902 schools consist of Craigmont, Prairie, Summit Academy & all home schooled students in the surrounding area.  If Uptmor should win state, she will be headed for Washington DC, to compete for the VFW National Patriot's Pen award, and a $10,000 bond.  Similarly, Ellis is now competing at the state level for a chance to go to Washington and win this prestigious award as well as a $1,000 prize and $1,000 for her school.
The VFW Post 4902 annual awards results are as follows:
Voice of Democracy (9-12 grade)  1st place Courtney Schwartz, Summit Academy,  2nd place Abigail Chmelik, Summit Academy, 3rd place Savanah Prigge, Summit Academy.
Patriot's Pen (6-8 grade)  1st place Chaye Uptmor, Prairie Middle School (1st place in District 2), 2nd place Tyler Krough, Summit Academy, 3rd place Lucas Wemhoff, Summit Academy.
Teacher of the Year winners:  Grade 9-12, Jerry Richardson, Prairie High School, Grade 6-8, Colleen Sonnen, Prairie Middle School & Grade K-5, Krystal Ellis, Prairie Elementary School (1st place in District 2).
The VFW National awards program is an annual event, with prizes at all levels.  The 1st, 2nd & 3rd place winners for the Cottonwood Post will receive their awards at the annual awards banquet, March 12th.  

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: