Election results
The final tally was closer than it was two years ago but Jim Chmelik again held off Jim Rehder and was re-elected as Idaho County Commissioner from District 3.
This time Chmelik won 4,033 to 3,690. Two years ago he won by almost 800 votes.
That was the only contested Idaho County race as Skip Brandt was unopposed for District 1 Commissioner and received 5,372 votes.
Likewise Sheriff Doug Giddings and Prosecutor Kirk MacGregor were unopposed and received 6,638 and 6,517 votes respectively.
In the Legislative District 7 races Idaho County followed the rest of the District in re-electing Sheryl Nuxoll as State Senator and Paul Shepherd and Shannon McMillan as state representatives. They beat back challengers Joe Cantamessa, Nancy Lerandeau and Casey Drews respectively.
U.S. Representative Raul Labrador also had little trouble getting re-elected as he won easily over Democratic challenger Jimmy Farris.
In the presidential race Idaho County followed the rest of Idaho in voting overwhelmingly for Republican Mitt Romney by a count of 5821 to 1722 for President Barack Obama. Nationwide though Obama was re-elected.
Idaho County also followed the rest of the state in voting down all three Education Propositions and voting for the two proposed Constitutional Amendments.
Tallies in Idaho County were: Prop 1-3810 yes, 4041 no; Prop 2-3593 yes, 4237 no; Prop 3-2709 yes, 5127 no. SJR 102-5221 yes, 2181 no; HJR 2aa-6042 yes, 1566 no.

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
or cotchron@qwestoffice.net
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: