Library News
Wow! What a great beginning for summer reading. The library was a buzz with activity. Although the attendance was small as swimming lessons are now underway, the enthusiasm was great. It was a Patriotic Theme presented by Paul Goedert and Rick Johnson and began with the with the Pledge of Allegiance. Paul was a member of the United States Air Force and Rick was United States Navy, Retired.
The American flag was the topic and the highlight was proper folding of the flag and what each fold represented. This was presented by Sabrina Pezely who served in the military and currently a member of the local VFW. Copies are available at the library. In addition, the children learned the proper care and respect for the flag.
It was educational not only to the children but also to the adults attending.
Also impressive was Brad Poxleitner and James Rainwater, members of the Civil Air Patrol who were in uniform along with Paul and Rick. 
Paul and Rick also visited with the children about their time spent in the service, how the flag is placed on the uniform and other very interesting facts and experiences.
Those of us of the WWII era, remember what real patriotism meant and how strong it was when our lives and country was threatened by foreign invasion. However it seems to have faded nation wide as years have passed. Perhaps it is time to re-think what our flag and our nation means to us and what we can do to preserve it. 
Thanks to each of you who helped with such an impressive program. Everyone should have the privilege of hearing it.
The library is open every Tuesday and Thursday from 10 am to 5 pm. Wednesdays it is open from 1 to 5 in the afternoon. Come in where the temperature is cool and so are the books. If you are interested in volunteering at the library, we would welcome your help.

Colleen Sonnen was the guest reader this week at the Summer Reading Program at Prairie Community Library. Sessions are held each Tuesday starting at 10:30 a.m. 

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: