School Board meets
The school board held their regular October meeting on Thursday, Oct. 23 due to the District Volleyball Tournament game on their regular meeting night.
Mitchell Marx or Presnell & Gage presented audit report and went through it with the board.
School report cards were discussed and approved. 
In the facilities report superintendent Rene’ Forsmann discussed the proposed new bus barn and shop. She is working on the background work. They should get about $6000 for the rent from the BLM as they use property near the football field for vehicle and equipment storage while their building is under construction. The plan is to have a shed housing 8 buses and a maintenance/bus transportation shop at that site once the BLM moves out. Lynn Guyer suggested the board look at making this move. Forsmann will look into estimates and put together a plan.
In the reports, Forsmann noted the 6th graders attend the McCall Outdoor Science School (MOSS) in early September. The students met with the County Commissioners and explained their experience. Consideration is being given to sending the 5th and 6th graders next year and then doing this every other year after that.
The Halloween Science Spooktacular will be held Wednesday, Oct. 29 from 5:30 to 7:30 at the Elementary School. Dinner will be served from 5:30 to 6 and all K-12 students and their families are invited.
PES was named a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence and was presented the check Friday, Oct. 17 by Tom Luna, State Superintendent of Public Instruction. The school receives $20,000 with an additional $5,000 travel budget to Washington, D.C. Forsmann and Sherry Holthaus will be making the trip Nov. 10-11.
Parent-teacher conferences are set for Nov. 5-6 from 3:30 to 7 p.m. There will be no school Friday, Nov. 7.
As superintendent Forsmann reported she and high school principal Carrie Nygaard are involved in a state-wide project to develop and administrator evaluation plan. Forsmann also attended a public hearing on the Tiered Licensure proposal.
The district is involved with Idaho Leads and will be meeting Dec. 12 in Coeur d’Alene for more professional development activities.
She also said she is looking at a meet the new teachers event for next month’s board meeting.
Nygaard reported the FFA students competed in soils/career development Sept. 30 at Genesee. It is the first time for Mr. Curry and the students for this type of competition. 4 students attended.
Homecoming went will with the senior class winning the competition and Jessi Riener and Lucas Arnzen named Queen and King.
The sophomore class had a field trip to LCSC Oct. 8. It focused mainly on he vocational/technical programs offered. The freshmen took a field trip to WSU Oct. 15. Both trips were sponsored by a GEAR-Up grant.
On Oct. 21st the 8th grade will be doing public service announcements through KORT for Red Ribbon Week while the 7th grade will hand anti-drug posters around town and in both schools.
The junior high band will be traveling to Grangeville Oct. 22 for a “mass band” training. All area bands will combine to learn from one another and play together.
Mrs. Sonnen and the Drug Free Group sponsored a bonfire that was held after the football game against Kamiah. This is due to the traditional Homecoming bonfire being cancelled due to dry conditions.
Parent/teacher conferences at the junior/senior high will be Nov. 4 and 5 from 3:30 to 7 p.m.
The Veteran’s day assembly will be held Tuesday, Nov. 11 at the high school gym at 1 p.m.
The board adjourned to an executive session at 6:25 p.m. The next regular meeting is set for Monday, Nov. 17 at 5:30 p.m.

Cottonwood, Idaho 83522


Classified Ads

503 King St.
P.O. Box 157
Cottonwood, ID 83522-0157
Fax 208-962-7131
Template Design by: